Welcome to our site!


National Health Insurance Scheme


The Board is the governing body of the National Health Insurance Authority. The Board is currently made up of seventeen members, including the Chairman and the Chief Executive Officer of the Authority. Membership to the Board is drawn from various bodies as set out in Section 3 of the National Health Insurance Act 2003, Act 650.

The President of Ghana appoints the Board Chair. The Board Members represent the Ministry of Health, Ghana Health Service, National Insurance Commission, Ministry of Finance, Attorney General’s Department, Social Security & National Insurance Trust, Medical & Dental Council, Pharmacy Council, Organised Labour, Accountancy Profession, Legal Profession, 2 Health Professionals with expertise in health insurance, 2 Members of National Health Insurance Scheme and Chief Executive of the Authority.

Membership of the Board is as follows:

1Prof .Yaw Adu-Gyamfi Chairman
2Dr. Lydia Dsane-Selby - Chief Executive (NHIA) Member
3Dr. Patrick Kuma-AboagyeMember
5Dr. Dennis AddoMember
7Mr. Justice OforiMember
9Professor Christian Agyare Member
10Mr. Kwasi Asante Member
11Mad. Anna Pearl Akiwumi-Siriboe Member
12Dr. Nicholas Ankomah TweneboaMember
13Vahandi-Naa Dr Mohammed Nantogmah Mahama Member
14Rev. Richard Kwasi YeboahMember
15Dr. Sylvester Yaw OppongMember
16Mad. Joyce Zempare Member
17Dr. Isaac Charles Noble Morrison Member
18Mrs. Catherine JohnsonBoard Secretary
19Mr. Kwabena Boadu Oku-Afari Member
20Mrs. Elizabeth Aggrey-AmpiahMember
© NHIS. All Rights Reserved.